A DUSTIN WISSMILLER PHOTOGRAPHY project.

2.21.11 “What is Art?”

"What is Art?"How do YOU define art?
Is it something created out of mind?
If so then every thought is art.
Is it something created out of love?
If so then every human being is art.
Is this art?
What if I told you this was painted by a world renowned artist in Europe?
Today it would be worth millions.
What if I told you this was painted by a second grader in art class?
Today it is worth nothing. Except to a parent.
What if that second grader grew up to be that world renowned artist?
How much would this be worth then?
I consider my images to be art. So then is this art? Me taking a picture of art?

My point is, there is no one definition of art. Some people use a brush. Others a pen. Some a guitar. Others a camera.
We are all capable of making art. It’s value in monetary fashion does constitute it’s worth to the creator.
For we all hold the true art we create to a priceless value within ourselves.

My challenge to you today, make art. Do something creative. For yourself. Nobody has to buy it. Nobody has to tell you it is good. It’s always good to you. I bet each and every one of you reading this right now has created something in their lifetime that is “creative”, but they are too afraid to show it to the world. Let it shine. You never know when you may surprise yourself with just how artistic you can be!

In fact, to prove that I know you all can make something artistic, I decided to have a contest. I am giving you all until the end of this week. Saturday night @ 11:59pm Pacific Time. Go out and make something creative. Take a picture of it. Email it to me at vision365photo@gmail.com and tell me why it inspired you to create it. I will select what I think is the most unique piece of art and the story behind it.  The winner will get to chose any one (1) image I have taken so far in this project up to today.  I will send them their very own 11×14 print autographed with a personal message from me. This can be ANYTHING you feel is artistic to you. The only rule is YOU must have created it all by yourself!  Remember, something creative and you need to have a story behind it! Email it to me at vision365photo@gmail.com.

So get going!  This is also a test to see who reads this far in my posts! 😉  Good luck to all!

(Relatives don’t count. hehe. But you can inspire someone to enter!)

3 responses

  1. Great post. I have been told by so many people that photography isn’t art but just simply capturing the moment. But a lot of people don’t under stand the effort I put in to making you see what I see. I recently took a self portrait using only my feet and before I started I told a few people about what I was doing and they didn’t understand how a picture of my feet would become a self portrait, but once I finished they saw a bit of my life and who I am just from one simple concept with many layers. keep up the good work and thank you for the bit of motivation.

    February 21, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  2. Hello Mitchell,
    Thank you for your comment. I agree. I also am faced with the same critiques and challenges about my work from time to time. I was lucky enough to have teachers and mentors growing up to re-enforce in me that art is created from within, not what others label it to you as being.

    I’m glad I was able to motivate you in your own pursuit. Keep it up.

    All the best to you.

    February 22, 2011 at 9:11 am

  3. Regarding this contest. I have already gotten a few emails from people about what they can submit.

    Just so you know, it does NOT have to be a photograph. This is about “art”. It can be a photograph, or it can be a sculpture, a painting, a story (no novels please lol), something you created out of macaroni noodles, whatever you consider to be art that YOU made.

    But you DO have to take a picture of it and send it to me, otherwise how will I see it to judge it? Just a simple snapshot. No need to get creative taking a picture of what you made. I am judging based on originality, creativity and the story/inspiration behind what you created.

    Good luck!
    -Dustin

    February 22, 2011 at 9:27 am